About Us

Fraunhofer Division EAS in Dresden

Research for Your Success

 

The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS is one of Germany's most important industrial applied research facilities for the development of microelectronic systems.

The scientists in the Division Engineering of Adaptive Systems EAS, located in Dresden, develop key technologies for the connected world of tomorrow. Besides the design of reliable microchips and complex electronic systems in leading-edge semiconductor technologies, new concept for sensor systems, the analysis of large amounts of data and the control of automation processes belong to the key acitivites. We focus on applications in the areas mobility and industrial automation in the business areas:

  • Design Methodology
  • Efficient Electronics
  • Distributed Data Processing & Control

 

The division originated as part of the Central Institute of Cybernetics and Information Processes. In 1992, the research institute became a branch lab and in 2006 a division of IIS. With the exception of base financing amounting to less than 25 percent, the budget is financed primarily via contract research.

 

Business Areas

IIS Annual Report

EAS Networks

Fraunhofer in Dresden

The Dresden region has always given birth to important inventions. Since 1992, Fraunhofer's scientists are also represented in Dresden in numerous technological fields. With its ten institutes, facilities and divisions, the city can now be considered the Fraunhofer capital. Dresden's commitment to be a future-oriented location for science and research was recognized with the title "City of Science 2006".

In addition to the exceptionally high density of research institutes, the city is also characterized by a close interlinking of research and industry, which gives rise to top achievements and innovative developments that set trends around the world.

Cutting-edge Research in Saxony

Not just Dresden but also the Free State of Saxony is known as an outstanding research landscape. European hard porcelain, the first small image reflex camera, the self-winding wrist watch, the drum washing machine, the tea bag, the coffee filter bag – all these are Saxon inventions that have spread throughout the world.

Today, Saxony is breaking new ground in microelectronics, nanotechnology, mechanical engineering, vehicle engineering and materials sciences with internationally renowned top research.

 

 

Video from the Saxon State Ministry for Science and the Arts

Über uns

Fraunhofer-Institutsteil EAS in Dresden

Forschen für Ihren Erfolg

 

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS ist eine weltweit führende Forschungseinrichtung für mikroelektronische und informationstechnische Systeme sowie Dienstleistungen.

Am Institutsteil Entwicklung Adaptiver Systeme EAS in Dresden arbeiten die Wissenschaftler speziell an der effizienten Realisierung intelligenter Systeme. Neben dem funktional sicheren sowie zuverlässigen System- und Schaltungsentwurf gehören neuartige Ansätze für Sensorik, die Analyse großer Datenmengen und die intelligente Steuerung von Automatisierungsprozessen zu den Arbeitsschwerpunkten. Abgestimmt auf die aktuellen und zukünftigen Anforderungen der Wirtschaft entstehen adaptive und robuste technologische Lösungen.

Wir fokussieren uns dabei auf Anwendungen aus den Bereichen Mobilität und Industrielle Automatisierung und bieten hierfür Lösungen aus folgenden Geschäftsfeldern:

  • Entwurfsmethoden
  • Effiziente Elektronik
  • Verteilte Analyse- und Regelsysteme

 

Hervorgegangen ist der Fraunhofer-Institutsteil EAS aus dem Zentralinstitut für Kybernetik und Informationsprozesse, das zur Akademie der Wissenschaften der DDR zählte. 1992 wurde die Forschungseinrichtung in Dresden Außenstelle, 2006 Institutsteil des IIS. Das Budget wird bis auf eine Grundfinanzierung von weniger als 25 Prozent aus der Auftragsforschung finanziert.

Fraunhofer in Dresden

Schon immer war die Region Dresden Geburtsort wichtiger Erfindungen. Seit 1992 sind auch Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler in zahlreichen Technologiefeldern in Dresden vertreten. Mittlerweile gilt die Stadt mit ihren zehn Instituten, Einrichtungen und Institutsteilen als Fraunhofer-Hauptstadt. Mit dem Titel »Stadt der Wissenschaft 2006« wurde ihr Engagement als zukunftsfähiger Standort für Wissenschaft und Forschung gewürdigt.

Neben der außerordentlich hohen Dichte an Forschungseinrichtungen zeichnet sich die Stadt auch durch eine enge Verflechtung von Forschung und Industrie aus, aus denen sich Spitzenleistungen und innovative Entwicklungen ergeben, die weltweite Impulse setzen.

Spitzenforschung in Sachsen

Nicht nur Dresden, sondern auch der Freistaat Sachsen steht für eine herausragende Forschungslandschaft. Das europäische Hartporzellan, die erste Kleinbildspiegelreflexkamera, die Armbanduhr mit Selbstaufzug, die Trommelwaschmaschine, der Teebeutel, die Kaffeefiltertüte – all das sind sächsische Erfindungen, die sich in der ganzen Welt durchgesetzt haben.  

Heute wartet Sachsen z. B. in der Mikroelektronik, der Nanotechnologie, dem Maschinen-  und Fahrzeugbau, den Material- und Werkstoffwissenschaften oder der Nanotechnologie mit international sichtbarer Spitzenforschung auf.

 

Video des Sächsischen Staatsministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst